Ten months

Ten months ago today I gave birth for the first time. After 36 hours of induction and subsequent labour, I got to hold Odin in my arms. It was the best and worst day of my life. I met my son but knew that he wouldn’t come home with us.

I’m sort of ashamed to admit that I hadn’t been paying attention to the date and I didn’t realize that today is the 20th. It wasn’t until a kind friend sent a message saying that she was thinking of us today that I looked at the calendar and understood why I had been having a tough day. It’s incredible what you can know and not know.

For the last ten months I’ve been grieving my baby who died. His sweet little face and tiny body; his eyes that never opened; his mouth that never fed. Our little boy who was too sick to stay here with us. I’ve been longing for that baby and in my mind I’ve kept him frozen in time — on April 20th, 2016. Until very recently, thinking of Odin as anything other than a little baby isn’t something I’ve been capable of. For some reason, though, over the last few weeks I’ve been triggered by my wandering imagination. When I see a toddler scamping around in a snowsuit, but don’t catch a glimpse of his face, I fight tears. When I hear a little kid laughing, my mind drifts to a reality where Odin is still here with us. When I see parents pushing a stroller I can’t stay focused on the conversation I’m having. It feels a bit like that sensation right before you pass out. Things get tunnel-y. Voices fade. Things go dark.

Today I saw this drawing on the Compassionate Friends Instagram account and I lost it. I don’t usually find images like this upsetting but this one made me realize for the first time that Odin would certainly have been taller than me. A completely new thought and new grief. Maybe I had been subconsciously protecting myself from speculating about what I could never know because it’s incredibly painful. I didn’t realize how painful until today when this new idea washed over me. It’s like losing him over and over again with each new imagining of what he could have been like. And right now that’s imagining Odin as a teenager, wrapping his arm around my shoulder as we walk down the street. He’d say something clever, lovingly and sweetly conning me into a bit of extra cash to buy a new video game.

screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-6-47-55-pm

Rationally, I know that grief is not linear so I’ll ride this wave like I’ve ridden the others. I’ll tread water and swim and swim because my life depends on it. To give in to the darkness of grief would dishonour my little guy and the last thing I would want to do is disappoint him. It’s like they say, the price of great love is grief. And my love for Odin is the greatest.

One thought on “Ten months

  1. Donna says:

    My dearest Karalee my heart aches daily for you . I wish there was something I could do more than I have. As a mom though I do feel a pain for you too. Love you honey

    Like

Leave a Reply

